Shortlist August Sander Award 2024

© [Translate to Englisch:] Die Photographische Sammlung/SK Stiftung Kultur – August Sander Archiv, Köln; VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2024

The August Sander Award, founded by Ulla Bartenbach and Prof. Dr. Kurt Bartenbach, will be awarded for the fourth time in 2024, with more than 120 photographers taking part in the competition. In addition to Germany, entries were received from Belgium, Finland, Great Britain, Italy, Austria, South Africa and the USA.

After a lively discussion, the jury has selected a shortlist of 10 entries from which the winner will emerge:

Meret Eberl (Berlin), "NBSW", 2022-2023
Karl Henrik Edlund (Helsinki, Finland), "Fylgja", 2017-2024
Ronja Falkenbach (Berlin), "Raver", 2023
Mathilde Tijen Hansen (Berlin), "Sonnenallee", since 2022
Alexander Komenda (Espoo, Finland), "A Bowlful of Kumis", 2017-2022
Johanna Langenhoff (Hamburg), "Ich oder so", 2023-2024
Melina Lehmacher (Düsseldorf), "Neue Stadt"; 2022-2024
Yola Moschitz (Graz), "Soll ich so mich zeigen, wie ich wirklich bin", 2022-2024
Tobias Nielsen (Niedereschach), "The Trouts of Triberg", since 2020
Philip Zietmann (Düsseldorf), "pardés", 2023

"The series selected for the shortlist show a high level of sensitivity towards the topics dealt with, which cover a broad spectrum. This includes, for example, the documentation of the place of origin as well as the current living environment and a reflection on finding one's own identity. The examination of social spaces, social contexts and groupings also comes into play. An experimental and classical approach to the medium of photography and its materiality as well as to the genre of the portrait also characterizes the positions on the shortlist," said the jury, consisting of Dr. Anja Bartenbach, donor family, Gabriele Conrath-Scholl, Director, Die Photographische Sammlung/SK Stiftung Kultur, Kirsten Degel, Louisiana Museum of Modern Art, Humlebæk, Bernhard Fuchs, artist, Düsseldorf, Prof. Dr. Martin Hochleitner, Salzburg Museum.

The fourth August Sander Award winner and the date of the award ceremony will be announced mid April 2024.